Election Commission of Pakistan (Public Relation Wing)

PRESS RELEASE

Islamabad the 27th April, 2017, The Election Commission is pleased to issue the fresh Schedule for election to fill the vacant reserved seats of Municipal Corporation Rawalpindi as per following dates:-

| S. No. | Activity | Date |
|--------|---|-------------------------------|
| 1. | Public Notice to be issued by the Returning Officers on | 29.04.2017 |
| 2. | Filing of Nomination papers with the Returning Officers by the Candidates | 03.05.2017 |
| 3. | Publication of notice of all the nomination papers received on | 04.05.2017 & 05.05.2017 |
| 4. | Objection to the nomination papers | 06.05.2017 |
| 5. | Scrutiny of nomination papers by the Returning Officers | 08.05.2017 & 09.05.2017 |
| 6. | Last date for filing of appeals against decisions of the Returning Officers(accepting/rejecting the nomination papers) by | 11.05.2017 |
| 7. | Last date for deciding appeals by Appellate Authorities by | 12.05.2017 |
| 8. | Last date for withdrawal of candidature | 13.05.2017 |
| 9. | Publication of revised list of candidates along with symbols | 13.05.2017 |
| 10. | Poll Day | 18.05.2017 |
| 11. | Consolidation and Declaration of result by the Returning Officer by | 19.05.2017 |
| 12. | Issuance of Notification of Returned Candidates by ECP by | 26.05.2017 |
| 13. | Oath of elected members of aforementioned Councils | 29.05.2017 |

- 2. To ensure that elections to the Local Government are conducted in accordance with the provisions of Article 218(3) of the Constitution, the Election Commission of Pakistan directs that:
 - a. All Executive Authorities in the Federation and in the Provinces shall not use State Resources in Local Government Bye-Elections calculated to influence the elections in favor of a particular candidate or a political party.
 - b. If any person in government service misuses his official position in any manner in order to influence results of elections, he shall be liable to be proceeded against under Section 60 of the Punjab Local Government Act, 2013.
 - c. No transfers / postings of the civil servants shall be made after the issuance of Election Schedule of the Local Government Bye-Elections without prior approval of the Commission till the publication of election results.
 - d. No leave of the civil servant will be granted after the issuance of Election Schedule of the Local Government Elections without prior approval of the Commission till the publication of election results. In case leave has already been sanctioned, the officer will not relinquish his charge
 - e. without the approval of the Hon'ble Commission.
 - f. After the issuance of Election Schedule, the President, Prime Minister, Chairman/Deputy Chairman Senate, Speaker, Deputy Speaker, Federal Ministers, Ministers of State, Advisors to the Prime Minister another Public office holder shall neither openly nor in secret give any subscription or donation or make promises for giving such subscription or donation to any institution, nor shall inaugurate, commit to undertake or announce any development project therein for the advancement of the campaign of a candidate of his choice and thereby influence the results of elections.
 - g. No Deputy Commissioner / District Coordination Officer shall perform protocol duty with the Prime Minister, Chief Minister, Speaker, Deputy Speaker, Federal Ministers, State Ministers, Provincial Ministers, Advisors to the Prime Minister and Chief Minister or any person on their behalf till conclusion of the electoral process.
 - h. Any holder of public office, who is found to have violated any provision of election laws or the instructions issued by the Election Commission, shall be proceeded against as mandated in law.
 - i. The poll shall be taken from **08:00 AM to 04:00 PM** without break

Note: The offices of the Election Commission as well as the offices of District Returning Officers and Returning Officers shall remain open on all public holidays during the schedule period:

All electoral activities mentioned in the aforesaid schedule shall be undertaken during office hour (08:00 a.m. to 04:00 p.m.) and the said timing will also be followed on public holidays fixed for any electoral activity of the schedule.

By order of the Election Commission of Pakistan
