ELECTION COMMISSION OF PAKISTAN



SECRETARIAT, Constitution Avenue, G-5/2, Islamabad, the 5th March, 2025

NOTIFICATION

No.F.3(5)/2023-LGE-S(Vol-VI).— In pursuance of the provisions of Articles 140A(2) and 218(3) of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Sections 6 and 193(a) of the Elections Act, 2017, the Election Commission of Pakistan is pleased to authorize the District Returning Officers and Returning Officers appointed for the conduct of Local Government Bye-Elections on vacant seats of Chairman / Vice Chairman to various Local Councils of Sindh Province, scheduled to be held on 17th March, 2025, to exercise the powers of Magistrate First Class under the Code of Criminal Procedure, 1898 (Act No. V of 1898) with immediate effect till the announcement of official results.

2. The aforesaid officers shall exercise the powers of Magistrate First Class in respect of offences under Section 193(a) of the Elections Act 2017 and Section 59 of the Sindh Local Government Act, 2013. These offences may be tried summarily in accordance with the provisions of Section 193 of the Elections Act, 2017, and the Code of Criminal Procedure, 1898 (Act No. V of 1898).

By order of the Election Commission of Pakistan.

(TANVEER-UL-HASAN)
Deputy Director (LGE-S)

To:

The Manager,
Printing Corporation of Pakistan Press,
Islamabad.

[For publication in the Gazette of Pakistan, Extraordinary (Part-III) of today's date.]

I. Copy forwarded for information to the: -

- 1 Chief Secretary, Government of the Sindh, Karachi.
- 2 Registrar, High Court of Sindh, Karachi.
- 3 Secretary, Local Government Department, Government of the Sindh, Karachi.

(Through PEC-Sindh)

II. Copy forwarded for information and necessary action to:-

- The Provincial Election Commissioner, Sindh, Karachi.
- The concerned District & Sessions Judge (Election Tribunal) of Sindh Province.
- 3. Concerned Regional Election Commissioner.
- Concerned District Election Commissioner.
- 5. Concerned Assistant Director (LG Housing& Town Planning Department).

(Through PEC-Sindh)

III. Copy also forwarded to the:-

- 1. Director General (Political Finance)
- 2. Director General (IT)
- 3. ADG (Electoral Rolls)
- 4. ADG (MCO /Monitoring)
- ADG (Training)
- 6. ADG (LGE)
- 7. Director to the Hon'ble CEC.
- 8. Staff Officer to the Secretary ECP.
- 9. Deputy Director (Budget)
- 10. Deputy Director (GS)
- 11. Deputy Director (Web) for uploading the same on the ECP website.
- 12. PS to Hon'ble MEC-I, MEC-II, MEC-III, MEC-IV.
- 13. SPA to the Special Secretary (Law).
- 14. JPA to the Special Secretary ECP

ECP Secretariat, Islamabad

(TANVEER-UL-HASAN)
Deputy Director (LGE-S)