The Election Commission of Pakistan has the mandate under Article 140-A (2) & 219 (d) of the Constitution of Islamic Republic of Pakistan to Conduct the Local Government Elections.


    • The Local Government Elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa is being governed by
      1.  Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Local Government Act-2013
      2.  Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Local Councils (Conduct of Election) Rules 2021
      3.  Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Local Councils Delimitation Rules-2019
    • Local Government Elections 2021, in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa was conducted in two phases.
      1.  Phase-I = 19th December, 2020 (in 17 Districts)
      2.  Phase-II = 31st  March, 2021 (in 18 Districts)
    • Tiers of Local Government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
      1.   There are two tiers of the Local Government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
      2.   Tehsil/City Council (City Councils only in Divisional Headquarters which are 7,whereas Tehsil Councils are 124)
      3.   Village/Neighborhood Council (VC in Rural Area and NC in Urban Area)
      4.   Total Village Councils = 3633   Total Neighborhood Councils = 579
    • Tehsil/City Council has been established in all 131 Councils of the Province, where the Tehsil Chairman has been elected through adult franchise and direct vote.
    • In each Tehsil Council there are seats reserved for Women, Peasant/Worker, Youth and Non-Muslim. The candidates who secured highest votes in their respective categories in VCs have been elected to the reserved seats in Tehsil Council. Similarly, the Chairmen of all VCs in the Jurisdiction of a Tehsil, are the General Members of Tehsil Council.
    • A Village or Neighborhood Council is comprised of 3 General Members, one Woman, one Peasant/Worker, one Youth and one Non-Muslim member. The General Councilors who secured highest votes amongst the three General Councilors becomes the Chairman of the Council. All the members of the Village or Neighborhood Council are elected through adult franchise and direct vote.
    • The Local Government Elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa were conducted on party basis as per law.
    • Total Seats in Village/Neighborhood Councils = 29484
      1.  Filled Seats which have been notified = 25020
      2.  Vacant Seats = 4464
      3.  Tehsil Chairman Seats=124
      4.  Vacant = 2 (Havelian of Abbottabad district and Mathra of Peshawar District)
      5. DRO/RO Proposal for Tehsil Chairman Election has been put up for approval
      6. Election will be held within 90 days of vacancy notification i.e before 25th August 2023


Local Government Elections Laws

  • The Balochistan Local Government Act, 2010
  • The Balochistan Local Government (Election) Rules, 2023.

Status of Local Government Elections in Balochistan:-

  • The process of Local Government Elections of Union Councils, Municipal Committees and Municipal Corporations in 35 districts except Quetta has been completed whereas poll for reserved seats of 35 district councils will be on 22.06.2023 and election on the seats of Chairmen & Vice Chairmen is scheduled to be held 6th July, 2023.
  • The process of delimitation of Union Councils/Wards in Balochistan was started on 21.12.2021 and final lists were published on 10.03.2022 .The Election Schedule for (32) Districts (except Quetta and Lasbella) was issued on 30th March, 2022 and poll was held on 29-05-2023.
  • Re-poll in 8 districts (Duki, Killa Abdullah, Ziarat, Loralai, Panjgur, Sibi, Nushki, Kech) was held on 02-07-2022
  • Election in UC No. 26 of district Jaffarabad and Municipal Committee Zhob was held on 28-08-2022
  • Election in UC No. 04,9,15, and 16 of district Musakhel, UC No. 12, 13, 14, and 27 of District Mastung, UC No. 13 of district Loralai and UCs No. 6 & 7 of District Duki was held on 27-9-2022
  • Re-Poll in Municipal Committee Buleda District Kech (Election Tribunal Direct Order) was held on 06-10-2022
  • Election District Lasbela, Hub and MC Huramzai Pishin was held on 11-12-2022.
  • Election Reserved Seats (Women, Peasants, Workers and Non-Muslim) in 32-districts was held on 14-12-2022
  • Re-Poll in ward No.4, UC No.8 of Killa Abdullah District and in ward No.6, UC No. 15 of Mastung district was held on 01-01-2023
  • Elections to seats of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of UCs in 33 Districts was held on 09-02-2023
  • LG Elections to reserved seats (Women, Peasants, Workers and Non-Muslim) in District Lasbela, Hub and MC Huramzai District Pishin was held on 05-03-2023
  • Elections to reserved seats in 22-Districts due to equality of votes among more than two candidates was held on 05-03-2023
  • Re-Poll in UC-20 District Kohlu, (Women, Peasants, Workers seats) was held on 15-03-2023
  • Elections to the Reserved Seats UC-16 of District Hub was held on 21-03-2023
  • Elections to the seats of Chairmen and Voice Chairmen in District Lasbela, Hub and MC Huramzai of District Pishin & 55 Councils of 21 Districts was held on 05-04-2023.
  • Election to the seats of Chairman and Vice Chairman in UC-07 Nushki, MC Kharan and UC-20 Kohlu District was held on 03-05-2023
  • Elections reserved seats in UC, 1- 2 & 5 District Lasbela and MC Winder of Hub district was held on 16-05-2023.
  • Election to reserved seats of 35 district councils will be was held on  22-06-2023
  • Election to the seats of Chairmen & Vice Chairmen of 35 district councils will be was held on 06-07-2023.
Accessibility Tools
Increase Font

Decrease Font

High Contrast

Negative Contrast

Light Background

Links Underline


Readable Fonts